DE | EN

Profile

I am a Python Professional with almost thirty years of professional experience (focus on Python). My main focus is backend development, software and enterprise architecture, Python tutor and mentor as well as requirements management and project management. In the area of content management systems and electronic publishing, I have extensive experience in publishing, XML and PDF.

I am always interested in new projects in exciting subject areas where I can use my expertise as a developer and architect to achieve added value for my clients.

During my many years of development work, I have worked in a wide variety of industries: publishing, industry, energy, medicine and pharmaceuticals. One of my main skills is to quickly familiarize myself with complex and non-specialist topics, to analyze the requirements and to develop a sustainable software and enterprise architecture from them.

My current focus is on the planning and implementation of green-field projects. I see myself as a backend developer and architect, but not as a DevOp. Nevertheless, I also have experience in the areas of frontend, network, cloud & Deployment have extensive, up-to-date expertise in order to be able to have a say in all aspects of projects. The implementation of cloud topics or front-end development generally takes place in cooperation with the corresponding experts from the respective fields.

My CV: [German] [English]

My Portfolio

Software development

With 30 years of experience in software development with Python, I have extensive expertise in backend development, web applications, REST microservices, database-based applications as well as experience in the field of data science, "big data", etc.

Software architecture and requirements management

Based on my many years of experience, I analyze the requirements of my customers (also from non-specialist areas) and design resilient software architectures based on them. Both technical requirements and developer experience (Python "best practice", developer-first approach) are incorporated.

My software solutions are primarily oriented towards the developer experience in order to provide the developers with an optimal developer experience. As a "by-product", my software solutions can of course be deployed in different scenarios (on-premise, cloud). I.e. the architecture of a software is not primarily based on the target architecture but on common software design principles, but to common software design principles.

Software-Solutions

  • Content management solutions based on the CMS Plone

    As a service provider, I have been implementing CMS solutions based on the Python-based CMS since 2001 Plone. Our reference project is the Guidelines Platform Onkopedia.

  • Individual Python software development

    On behalf of our customers, I implement individual software solutions in all possible business domains. Among other things, I have implemented solutions for the recording of gas consumption at large gas customers, worked on laboratory software and taken over numerous existing projects from customers as part of a software maintenance.

  • Electronic Publishing Solutions

    Due to my original work in the publishing industry (Saarbr├╝cker Zeitung, Haufe-Lexware Verlag, Office for Publications of the EU), I have a high affinity for publishing topics. The focus here is on CMS-based XML publishing solutions with so-called Single-Source Multi-Channel Approach. Another focus is the creation of high quality PDF documents from HTML/XML. with the help of CSS (PrintCSS approach aka CSS Paged Media).

Technologies

Python (All versions)

  • All common Web-Frameworks
  • FastAPI, Pydantic
  • SQLAlchemy and other ORMs
  • Pandas, Numpy
  • Tools: pytest, coverage, flake8, etc.

Content management (CMS)

  • Zope application server
  • Alfresco
  • Wordpress
  • Plone

Electronic Publishing

  • XML, XSLT, HTML
  • XML Databases: BaseX, existDB, Marklogic
  • PDF Generation via CSS Paged Media (PrintCSS)
  • Full-text search: Solr, Elasticsearch, Typesense

Databases

  • Relational Databases: Oracle, Postgres, MySQL
  • NoSQL Databases: ArangoDB, Cassandra, InfluxDB, among others
  • Cloud Databases: AWS RDS, DynamoDB, among others

Tools

  • Jenkins, Github, Gitlab, Jira, Confluence, Teams, Office 365, among others.

Methodologies

  • Kanban
  • Scrum
  • Agile development
  • Extreme Programming (XP)

Clients(Excerpt)

Sonnen Ltd.

Python Development and software architecture of a new Billing platform, requirements management

E.ON Energy

Python development and requirements management in the field of pricing

EWE Energy Trading

Python development in the field of pricing

University environment

Saarland University, Marburg University, Humboldt University

Medicine & Pharma

German Society for Haematology and Medical Oncology Inc.

Industry

Dynamore GmbH, Arculus GmbH

Other customers

German Telecom, T-Systems

Projects

zopyx.com - My official website
print-css.rocks - PrintCSS technology for generating high-quality PDF documents from HTML/XML and CSS
print-css.de - My PrintCSS/PDF Portofolio
XML-Director - A framework for the realisation of electronic publishing applications based on the CMS Plone and XML technology
Produce & Publish - A collection of technologies and tools from the field of electronic publishing

Skills & Experience

Python,
Backend-Development

Software Architect,
Requirements management

Project management

Relational databases

NoSQL databases

Plone CMS

Electronic Publishing
(CMS, XML, PDF)

Cloud (AWS, Azure)

DE | EN

Profil

Ich bin ein Python Professional mit einer fast dreißigjährigen Berufserfahrung (Schwerpunkt Python). Mein Hauptfokus sind Backend-Entwicklung, Software- und Enterprise Architektur, Python Tutor und Mentor sowie Anforderungsmanagement und Projektleitung. Im Bereich Content-Management-Systeme und Electronic Publishing verfüge ich über eine umfangreiche Erfahrung im Verlagswesen, XML und PDF.

Ich bin immer interessiert an neuen Projekten in spannenden Themenfeldern bei denen ich meine Expertise als Entwickler und Architekt einsetzen kann, um für meine Kunden einen Mehrwert zu erreichen.

Ich habe während meiner langjährigen Entwicklertätigkeit in den verschiedensten Branchen gearbeitet: Verlagswesen, Industrie, Energie, Medizin und Pharma. Eine meiner Hauptfähigkeiten ist es mich schnell in komplexe und fachfremde Themen einzuarbeiten, die Anforderungen zu analysieren und daraus eine nachhaltige Software- und Enterprise-Architektur zu entwickeln.

Mein Fokus liegt aktuell auf der Planung und Umsetzung von green-field Projekten. Ich sehe mich als Backend-Entwickler und Architekt, nicht jedoch als DevOp. Trotzdem verfüge ich auch in den Bereichen Frontend, Netzwerk, Cloud & Deployment über umfangreiche, aktuelle Expertise, um in Projekten bei allen Aspekten mitreden zu können. Die Umsetzung von Cloud Themen oder die Front-Entwicklung erfolgt i.A. in Kooperation mit den entsprechenden Experten aus den jeweiligen Fachgebieten.

Mein CV: [Deutsch] [Englisch]

Mein Portfolio

Software-Entwicklung

Mit 30 Jahre Erfahrung im Bereich Software-Entwicklung mit Python verfüge ich über eine umfangreiche Expertise in den Bereichen Backend-Entwicklung, Web-Applikationen, REST Microservices, Datenbankbasierte Applikationen sowie Erfahrungen im Bereich Data Science, "Big Data" etc.

Software-Architektur und Anforderungsmanagement

Aufgrund meiner langjährigen Erfahrung analysiere ich die Anforderungen meiner Kunden (auch aus fachfremden Gebieten) und entwerfe darauf basierend belastbare Software Architekturen. Dabei fliessen sowohl fachliche Anforderungen als auch Entwicker-Erfahrungen (Python "best practice", developer-first Ansatz) ein.

Meine Software-Lösungen sind primär orientiert an der Developer-Experience, um den Entwicklern eine optimale Entwickler-Erfahrung zu ermöglichen. Als "Abfallprodukt" können meine Software-Lösungen natürlich in verschiedenen Szenarien deployed werden (on-premise, Cloud). D.h die Architektur einer Software orientiert sich primär nicht an der Ziel-Architektur sondern an gängigen Software-Design Prinzipien.

Software-Lösungen

  • Content-Management-Lösungen auf Basis des CMS Plone

    Als Dienstleister realisieren ich seit 2001 CMS Lösungen auf Basis des Python-basierten CMS Plone. Unser Referenzprojekt ist die Leitlinien Plattform Onkopedia.

  • Individuelle Python Software-Entwicklung

    Im Kundenauftrag realisiere ich individuelle Software-Lösungen in allen möglichen Business Domains. U.a. habe ich Lösungen für die Erfassung von Gasverbräuchen bei Gasgroßkunden realisiert, an einer Laborsoftware mitgearbeitet und zahlreiche Bestandprojekte von Kunden im Rahmen einer Softwarepflege übernommen.

  • Electronic Publishing Lösungen

    Durch meine ursprüngliche Tätigkeit im Verlagswesen (Saarbrücker Zeitung, Haufe-Lexware Verlag, Amt für Veröffentlichungen der EU) habe ich eine hohe Affinität zu Publishing Themen. Der Fokus liegt hier auf CMS-basierten XML Publishing Lösungen mit sogenanntem Single-Source Multi-Channel Ansatz. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt ist die Erzeugung von hochqualitativen PDF Dokumenten aus HTML/XML mit Hilfe von CSS (PrintCSS Ansatz aka CSS Paged Media).

Technologien

Python (alle Versionen)

  • alle gängigen Web-Frameworks
  • FastAPI, Pydantic
  • SQLAlchemy und andere ORMs
  • Pandas, Numpy
  • Tools: pytest, coverage, flake8, etc.

Content-Management (CMS)

  • Zope
  • Alfresco
  • Wordpress
  • Plone

Electronic Publishing

  • XML, XSLT, HTML
  • XML Datenbanken: BaseX, existDB, Marklogic
  • PDF Generierung via CSS Paged Media (PrintCSS)
  • Volltextsuche: Solr, Elasticsearch, Typesense

Datenbanken

  • Relationale Datenbanken: Oracle, Postgres, MySQL
  • NoSQL Datenbanken: u.a. ArangoDB, Cassandra, InfluxDB
  • Cloud Datenbanken: u.a. AWS RDS, DynamoDB

Tools

  • u.a. Jenkins, Github, Gitlab, Jira, Confluence, Teams, Office 365

Methodiken

  • Kanban
  • Scrum
  • Agile Entwicklung
  • Extreme Programming (XP)

Kunden (Auszug)

Sonnen GmbH

Python Entwicklung und Software Architektur einer neuen Billing-Plattform, Anforderungsmanagement

E.ON Energy

Python Entwicklung und Anforderungsmanagement im Bereich Pricing/Preisfindung

EWE Energy Trading

Python Entwicklung im Bereich Pricing

Universitäres Umfeld

Universität des Saarlandes, Universität Marburg, Humboldt Universität

Medizin & Pharma

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Hämatologie und medizinische Onkologie e.V.

Industrie

Dynamore GmbH, Arculus GmbH

Weitere Kunden

Deutsche Telekom, T-Systems

Projekte

zopyx.com - Meine offizielle Website
print-css.rocks - PrintCSS Technologie zur Generierung von hochqualitativen PDF Dokumenten aus HTML/XML und CSS
print-css.de - Mein PrintCSS/PDF Portofolio
XML-Director - Ein Framework zur Realisierung von Electronic Publishing Applikationen auf Basis des CMS Plone und XML Technologie
Produce & Publish - Eine Sammlung von Technologien und Tools aus dem Bereich Electronic Publishing

Skills & Erfahrungen

Python,
Backend-Entwicklung

Software Architektur,
Anforderungsmanagement

Projektleitung

Relationale Datenbanken

NoSQL Datenbanken

Plone CMS

Electronic Publishing
(CMS, XML, PDF)

Cloud (AWS, Azure)